How to Fix Your Pixilated Digital Photos

Article 1 of 2

“Everyone wants to live on top of the mountain, but all the happiness and growth occurs while you’re climbing it.” – Andy Rooney.

Marquette Mountain September 12 2004 Before Edits

You can find this spot if you come in and drive through Marquette on US-41 from the west turn right at the bottom of the hill on Carp River Hill Road nestled in between Marquette and Harvey on Lake Superior, if you reach the Dept of Natural Resources you’ve gone too far.

Then you will take a quick left on Cliff Power Road which is a dirt road along the Carp River and follow it about a quarter-mile to Mt Marquette Loop yup that easy to get up there. If you’re coming from the East or South you’ll either be coming off M-28 or North up US41.

As you can see above you’re greeted with a beautiful view overlooking Marquette and the lower harbor along with Lake Superior.

In this particular article of a two-part series, I’m not going to go into depth on how to transform the image in detail. I want to mention that first, there are so many options available today through apps and software to attempt to help you alleviate the pixelation in a photo. Many of these options are bandaids at best robbing Peter to pay Paul type of scenario.

The first thing I would say is, if your happy with the results hey, go for it, it’s your photo you have to look at it and you want to keep it so that’s what’s truly important. If you want to do the photo justice though or maybe get more creative with it maybe I can help you a little bit. After all, if I can learn this, you can too. Maybe not doing it the way I do use the same apps and or techniques but one that is similar out there or easier for you that satisfies your expectations and allows you to do it yourself with satisfaction.

Marquette Michigan After Shot

If I can help point you there, then I’ve accomplished something. So here at the top of the article I’ve shown the before shot and at the bottom is the after. Two separate images combined in one app on my Mac. I also added pixels to the image improving image density in another app. Then performed an HDR format in another and some color adjustments and presto. Not quite that easy but not extremely hard either.

In the next article, “How to Fix Your Pixilated Digital Photos Part 2 of 2” I’ll get into more detail on just how I perform these types of edits. Also coming up, I still have some writing to do about last summer’s trip out West I’d like to finish up as well before this summer arrives.

Thanks so much for joining me and reading.

You can also find me on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram sharing what I’ve been working on most recently and of course my website. Stay tuned for more about my trip out west.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started